MILES CITY — State tournament offensive MVP Terek Bistodeau batted 2 for 3 with a run and three RBIs to lead the Glacier Twins past the Bitterroot Red Sox 8-6 in the State A American Legion baseball championship game on Sunday.

The win completed a perfect state tourney for the Twins. Glacier posted a 5-0 record in the five-day tournament. The Twins started the tournament with an 8-3 win over Tri-County on Wednesday and followed with a 5-3 victory against Gallatin Valley on Thursday. The Twins then beat the Red Sox 2-1 in the undefeated semifinal game on Friday before scoring two runs in the top of the seventh to eliminate Laurel 10-9 on Saturday.

Glacier's Ryan Veneman, who went 1 for 4 in the title game with a run scored, was named the Tournament MVP. Veneman also came in to record the final two outs of the game.

Behind a two-run first and six-run fourth, the Twins led 8-0 after four frames and the lead was too big for the Red Sox to overcome. Bitterroot, the three-time defending state champion, put together six runs in the sixth in a comeback attempt.

In the first inning, Glacier's Coby Clark-Dickinson hit a triple and Bistodeau singled for the key hits. Clark-Dickinson wouldn't notch another hit in the game, but finished with two runs and two RBIs. 

Clark-Dickinson, Bistodeau, Thomas Hellwig, and Jack Schwaiger all had RBIs for the Twins in the fourth.

The Red Sox' six sixth-inning runs were the result of an error, a base hit by Matthew Brown, a homer by Hunter Omlid and a groundout from Bridon Bowman. 

Overall, Omlid batted 2 for 3 with a run and two RBIs. 

Tristan Lewis pitched the final 3.2 innings for Bitterroot and did not allow a hit or a run. 

Both teams tallied six hits, while Glacier committed four fielding errors and Bitterroot three.

Glacier and Bitterroot both qualified for the Northwest Class A Regional Aug. 10-14 in Lewiston, Idaho.

State A champions from Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Utah and Wyoming advance to regionals, along with the Montana runner-up and the host team. It is the final tourney of the year at the Class A level.

Load comments