Iowa State's Jarrett Degen is the No. 8 seed at 149 pounds for the NCAA DI Wrestling Championships at PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh March 21-23.

Degen (25-6) will wrestle No. 25 Russell Rohlfing (16-11) of CSU-Bakersfield in the first round. According to an article on The Open Mat, Bozeman's Tyrel Todd was the last Montana native to earn a top-eight seed at nationals when Todd was the fourth seed at 197 pounds for Michigan in 2009.

Last year Degen, a four-time State A wrestling champion from Belgrade, finished 3-2 at the NCAA national meet at 149 pounds as a redshirt freshman. He concluded the season with a 23-11 record. 

Overall, seven Wyoming wrestlers will represent the Cowboys at the national tourney.

At 125 and 133, Cowboy wrestlers will meet Big 12 foe North Dakota State Bison grapplers in first-round affairs. 

For the Cowboys at 125, No. 23 Cole Verner (22-13) of Green River, Wyoming, will wrestle No. 10 Brent Fleeetwood (24-4) of North Dakota State in the first round. In the second Cowboy vs. Bison first-round match, Montorie Bridges (29-8) is the No. 12 seed at 133 and will wrestle No. 21 Cam Sykora (20-8) of NDSU. 

The No. 23 seed at 141, UW's Sam Turner (30-12) will be matched with No. 10 Nicholas Gil (29-6) of Navy in the first round. Wyoming's Branson Ashworth (33-5) is the No. 10 seed at 165 pounds and has drawn Duke's No. 23 Zach Finesilver (19-8) in the first round. 

The Cowboys' Hayden Hastings of Sheridan, Wyoming, (No. 25, 25-13) will meet No. 8 Taylor Lujan (24-5) of Northern Iowa in the first round. At 184 pounds in round one, Wyoming's Tate Samuelson (No. 18, 23-7) meets No. 15 Chip Ness (19-12) of North Carolina. Cowboys heavyweight Brian Andrews (34-10) is seeded 19th and will wrestle No. 14 AJ Nevills (24-7) of Fresno State in round one. 

Load comments