Cyle Watts

Safety Cyle Watts announced Sunday he was signing with Carroll College. Last season Watts played for Reedley College in Reedley, California. 

HELENA — The Carroll College football team added transfer safety Cyle Watts to its 2019 recruiting class.

Watts broke the news on Twitter Sunday afternoon saying, “Thank you to all the schools that recruited me, and even a bigger thank you to my family for standing by my side through the ups and downs. With that being said, I will be continuing my education and football career at Carroll College.”

Watts spent last season at Reedley College in Reedley, California, where he played in nine games and recorded 10 total tackles. Prior to Reedley, Watts was at NAIA Warner University in Lake Wales, Florida, but said he didn’t like the culture so he decided to transfer.

“I just think Carroll is the best program for me,” Watts said. “It just felt like family”

Watts, who graduated from Alonso High School in Tampa, Florida, joins defensive backs Brian FauntLeRoy and Matt Kvech in an already deep secondary.

Starke, Taylor recognized at Halo Awards

Jenna Starke and Jonathan Taylor took home the St. Sebastian Award at the second annual Halo Awards Saturday night.

The St. Sebastian Award goes to to the top two student-athletes that exemplify Carroll College the most in athletics, academics and throughout the community.

Starke, a Helena High graduate, is a junior on the volleyball and a servant leader with College Christian Fellowship. She also volunteers with Big Brothers Big Sisters and the Rocky Mountain Care Center.

Taylor is planning to graduate this spring and has done mission trips to Brazil to build churches and schools while coaching soccer clinics. He has also coached inner-city youth soccer in Chicago and was a student leader with the College Christian Fellowship.

Other awards handed out included Match Burnham winning Male Player of the Year, Hannah Dean winning Female Player of the Year, Matt Wyman and Anna ApRoberts winning Most Outstanding Scholar Athletes, the women’s basketball team being recognized for most community involvement and Catie Nygren winning the Saints Spirit Award.

Also, former football coach Mike Van Diest was given the Carroll Athletics Servant Leadership Award.

Two track and field freshmen qualify for nationals

Carroll College freshmen Shamrock Campbell and Noah Majerus qualified for nations at the WAR meet in Spokane, Washington, this past weekend.

Campbell, who is just weeks removed from playing point guard during the Carroll men’s basketball NAIA Tournament run, finished with a distance of 14.31 meters in the triple jump.

Majorus also finished second in the 800 run in 1 minute, 53.56 seconds.

The Saints’ next track meet is Saturday in Missoula.

Ryan Kuhn covers Carroll College athletics for the Independent Record and Email him at or follow him on Twitter at @rskuhn

Carroll College sports reporter

Load comments