Carroll at Rocky

Rocky Mountain's Craig Wilmore drives past Carroll defender Match Burnham during their game at the Fortin Center in Billings in this 2016 file photo.

BILLINGS — Rocky Mountain fans will be able to cast a vote for senior guard Craig Wilmore in the 2019 State Farm Dark Horse Dunker contest through Tuesday night.

Participants in the contests are determined by Intersport Inc. in conjunction with State Farm from submissions received from college athletic departments around the country.

Players will be voted on by the public in a bracket-style competition featuring a highlight reel that they can view.

Wilmore is going up against Montana State’s Keljin Blevins. 

Providence men’s basketball adds Florida transfer Thabize

GREAT FALLS — The University of Providence men’s basketball team signed transfer guard Joel Thabize for next season’s roster.

Thabize spent last season at Tallahassee Community College, where he played in 20 games and shot 41 percent from the field. 

Prior to that Thabize, who is originally from Montreal, Canada, played at Gillette Community College and averaged 10.3 points and 4.2 rebounds per game.

“We are really excited to have Joel this spring,” Argos coach Steve Keller said in a press release. “Adding another big guy around the rim adds a lot to our program and brings valuable size that we have been lacking.”

Providence is set to graduate four seniors this season including Jack Taylor, D’shea Williams, Jalen Shepard and Austin Starr. 

Carroll sweeps Frontier Conference weekly hoops awards, again

Carroll College men’s and women’s basketball swept the Frontier Conference Player of the Week awards for a second straight week after Hannah Dean and Match Burnham were selected.

Dean averaged 20 points, 6.5 rebounds and 3.5 assist in two wins over Montana Tech and Rocky Mountain this past week.

Burnham, averaged 27.5 points and 7.5 rebounds this past week and helped the Saints to a share of the regular season Frontier Conference championship with a 33-point game against Rocky Mountain. 

Frontier announces basketball academic all-conference selections

The Frontier Conference announced its academic all-conference basketball teams on Friday afternoon. 

The following 76 student-athletes selected are at least sophomores, maintained a 3.0 GPA and were enrolled at the school the previous two semesters. 


Carroll College

Hannah Dean

Christine Denny

Brittney Johnson

Cassidy Kosena

Molly McDermott

Mikaela Olson

Taylor Salonen

Danielle Wagner

Match Burnham

Ife Kalejaiye

Brad King

Dane Warp

Matt Wyman 

Lewis-Clark State 

Jossilyn Blackman

Kaira Burlage

Jansen Edminston

Abbie Johnson

Casli Moscrip 

Peyton Souvenir

Hailey Turner

Trystan Bradley

Cory Dollarhide

Race Martin

Andrew McCowan

Blair Moore

David Shedrick

Montana State-Northern  

Jessica Curl

Allix Goldhahn

Lily Hinderbrand

David Bray

James Fry

Adam Huse

Montana Tech 

Hailey Crawford

Tjaden Pallister

Mollie Peters

Mesa Williams

Derrius Collins

Carson Drummer

Nicholas Fitts

Christian Jones

Gavin McPherson

Dylan Pannabecker

Montana Western

Tori Anderson

Savannah Bignell

Brandy Bookout

Britt Cooper

Page Holmes

Mesa King

Cierra Lamely

Sophia Wass

Shannon Worster

Collin Achenbach

Connor Burkhart

Derrick Durohcer

Tanner Haverfield

Kooper Kidgell

Rocky Mountain 

Alecia Chamberlin

Kiana Corpus

Jessica Ellsworth

Markaela Francis

Olvia James

Brooke Jones

Alexi Smith

Isaac Martel

Jared Samuelson

Grant Wallace


Parker Esary

Emilee Maldonado

Tristian Murphy

Kerstyn Pimperton

Jenna Randich

Elly Teska

Brittany White

Thomas Middleton

Kevinjason Ng

Jacob Wetzel

Ryan Kuhn covers Carroll College athletics for the Independent Record and Email him at or follow him on Twitter at @rskuhn

Carroll College sports reporter

Load comments