football stockimage

MISSOULA — Along with the Class AA state football title, Billings Senior took home both all-state offensive and defensive MVP honors.

The Missoula schools fared pretty well on the all-state list, too.

Missoula Sentinel snagged 12 separate all-state awards between first-team, second-team and honorable mention tiers, and Missoula Big Sky added nine more.

Big Sky quarterback Levi Janacaro earned a first-team all-state nod alongside Senior signal caller Nolan Askelson, who was named the state MVP on defense. Janacaro added a Western AA offensive MVP to his trophy cabinet, too.

Big Sky running back Kadin Lahti earned first-team all-state honors at wide receiver alongside Kalispell Flathead's Anthony Jones and University of Montana commit Gabe Sulser. Sulser, of Billings Senior, was also named the state's offensive MVP. Lahti was also named as a second-team cornerback.

Rounding out the Big Sky all-state selections were: Dorian Cilenti (honorable mention guard, D-line); Tyler Flink (honorable mention fullback, second team ILB); Rylan Wilcox (honorable mention D-end) and Jett Rebish (honorable mention safety).

Sentinel, which upended Big Sky in the first round of the Class AA playoffs, landed two special teams players on the first-team all-state roster. Spencer Peppenger, brother of Montana State kicker Gabe Peppenger, kicked his way to a first-team bid. Cameron Hegel was awarded first team under the all-encompassing "special teams player" position.

Spartans that landed on the all-state second team were: Griz commit Nick Germer at wide receiver; Brandon Morley at inside linebacker; Caden Messer at outside linebacker and Blaise Meriwether at safety. James Thomas (tackle), Sam Severson (guard), Elias DeWaters (running back), Dylan Goforth (D-line) and Beau King (cornerback) were all named all-state honorable mention.

Missoula Hellgate captured a pair of all-state awards in its first season back from a one-year hiatus. Senior outside linebacker Ceaton Oliver and sophomore cornerback Brandon Coladonato each earned an honorable mention all-state award.


Load comments