State champions Bozeman and Billings Skyview not only walked away with first-place hardware from the weekend, both schools were awarded the most all-state players on Tuesday when the Class AA all-state and all-conference teams were announced. 

The Billings Skyview girls, who defeated Missoula Big Sky 6-0 to cap a perfect 15-0-0 season, had six players named to the all-state team, led by Eastern AA MVP junior Jordan Roe. Halle Labert, Ashlyn Braun, Devyn Ruff, Hailee Gertsch and Lainey Bosch rounded out the group. 

Missoula Hellgate had the second-most players voted all-state with four, while runner-up Big Sky had three. Big Sky junior Whitney Morrison was named the Western AA MVP. 

For the boys, Bozeman saw six players named all-state, led by Eastern AA MVP Ted Scott. The Hawks defeated three-time defending champ Missoula Hellgate 2-1 for the state title. Ben Taylor, Bergan Hill, Brendan Ulvin, Aspen Klein and Zach Springer were fellow Hawks who grabbed all-state nods. 

The Knights were tied for second-most with four players earning all-state honors. Cole Hage was named Western AA MVP while two-time Gatorade Player of the Year Matt Baldridge also made the team. Helena also saw four players earn the nod while Missoula Sentinel had three. 

Load comments