The Montana High School Association announced Wednesday changes in the division and district alignments for the 2020-21 seasons that were approved at its annual meeting last weekend in Billings.

In Class AA, Bozeman Gallatin is scheduled to open and will join the Eastern AA. 

In football, a number of teams are scheduled to play a JV-only schedule. Class A's East Helena and Lockwood, which both opened in 2019, will play another year of JV as they continue to add classes to the school. Livingston and Lame Deer, who both forfeited seasons in 2019, will play JV only in 2020 as well.

Westby-Grenora (Eastern 8-Man) and Sheridan (Southern 8-Man) are scheduled to move up from 6-Man football. Centerville was approved to move to 6-Man football for one year only pending the two-week notice period. The Miners are scheduled to join the 6-Man Central division.

Northern C volleyball realignment was approved, which removes the 6C West, 6C East and 7C into equal nine-team districts of 6C and 7C. 6C includes Simms, Sunburst, Power, Valier, Heart Butte, Cascade, Augusta, Dutton-Brady and Belt. 7C will include Chester-Joplin-Inverness, North Star, Chinook, Centerville, Box Elder, Hays-Lodgepole, Geraldine-Highwood, Fort Benton and Big Sandy.

Western C also underwent realignment in basketball, volleyball and track and field. Drummond and Philipsburg will move from 12C to 13C and Alberton-Superior will move over to 14C. 11C and 12C will combine into 11-12C comprised of Ennis, Gardiner, Harrison-Willow Creek, Lima, Lone Peak, Manhattan Christian, Sheridan, Shields Valley, Twin Bridges, West Yellowstone and White Sulphur Springs.

Changes to B-C wrestling were also announced. It will be split evenly into an eastern and western division, both consisting of 23 teams.

Load comments